About Us

The Chesterfield-Colonial Heights Christmas Mother program is a nonprofit, charitable organization that was established in 1972 by Miss Lucy Corr, then superintendent of the Chesterfield County Welfare Department. The program has expanded over the years to include Chesterfield and Colonial Heights and is currently managed by a committee of volunteers. The program’s purpose is to help families, elders, and foster children not be forgotten during the holiday season.

Our Mission

The mission of the Chesterfield-Colonial Heights Christmas Mother program is to ensure that no family is without food, no child is without new toys, books or clothing and no child or elder is forgotten as we celebrate the holidays in our community!

Watch the time-lapse video below to see the Christmas Mother team in action!

What We Do

Work directly with the Chesterfield-Colonial Heights Department of Social Services, schools and churches to identify individuals and families in need.

Encourage participation from local schools to provide gifts, donations and volunteers.

Arrange sponsors who provide toys, clothing, books and food to families or elders.

Shop year-round for clothing, toys, and gifts at reasonable prices and also purchases gift cards for food.

Accept gifts and donations of money, clothing, toys, books and food gift cards from those in the community who wish to share with others.

Operate the Christmas Center, distributing gifts to disadvantaged recipients.

Phyllis Taylor Poats
Chesterfield Colonial Heights Christmas Mother 2021

The Christmas Mother

A Christmas Mother has been chosen each year since 1979 to represent the Chesterfield-Colonial Heights Christmas Mother. She is the public spokesperson for the program.

Would you like the Christmas Mother to appear at your event?

2021 Executive Committee

Chairperson Kathy Fox
Vice-Chairperson Phyllis Poats
Immediate Past Chairperson Bonnie Cauthorn
Treasurer Dona Link, Asst. Donna Goad
Recorder Carol Ricker
Christmas Mother Phyllis Poats

Board of Directors
Sandra Noell, Chairman
Shirley A. Hudson, Vice-Chairman
Dona S. Link, Secretary
Martha Miles
Karolyn Soyars
Bonnie Inge Bell
Bonnie Cauthorn, Ex-Officio
Trustee Emeritus, Miss Lucy Corr, posthumously

The 2021 Committee in November.  A few were members were not available for the photo, but still a vital part of our team.